The capital town of Argostoli and its history
The area has been inhabited since 1600 and in 1757 the Venetians dominated Kefalonia and decided to transfer to Argostoli the capital of the island, which until then was the Castle of St. George. The pre-seismic town of Argostoli was picturesque with buildings of great architectural value, public and private.
The town has been the capital of the island since 175. It is a beautiful seaside city, surrounded by small, luscious hills and lies on the west side of Kefalonia, with approximately 10.000 residents.
Some sights in the area are very popular like the De Bosset Bridge which is around 700 meters long, and is the longest stone bridge over the sea in the world! It is a pedestrian bridge that connects Argostoli to the opposite side of Argostoli Bay. There lies Drepano, a village where you can find the Municipal and the English Cemetery. Additionally, the bridge separates the Koutavos Lagoon from the bay. If one books our Deluxe Loft Suite rooms, they can have direct view to the De Bosset Bridge and the Kutavos Lagoon.